Board of directors - Non-executive


From left:
Trevor Munday, Brian Connellan, Sean Jagoe, Bobby Makwetla


Chairman, non-executive, independent director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board from 1 June 2008 and as chairman from 1 June 2009
Born 12 September 1949

Trevor spent his formative years from 1971 in a wide-ranging number of roles in financial and commercial management positions both in southern Africa and Europe. In the late 1980s he was appointed finance and commercial director of AECI Explosives and Chemicals Limited. In 1990 he was appointed managing director of Dulux Paints and in the period 1996 to 2000 managing director of Polifin Limited. In 2001 Trevor was appointed executive director and chief financial officer of Sasol Limited with responsibility also for corporate affairs and various other portfolios. Two years later he assumed global responsibility for Sasol’s chemical businesses. In 2005 and 2006 he was deputy chief executive of Sasol Limited. At the end of 2006 he retired from executive roles and in 2007 became a non-executive director of various companies.

He serves as a board member of Absa Group Limited, Absa Bank Limited, Illovo Sugar Limited, Life Healthcare Limited, Sasol Synfuels International (Pty) Limited, Sasol Petroleum International (Pty) Limited and Sasol Polymers and Sasol Nitro – both trading as divisions of Sasol Chemical Industries (Pty) Limited.

Non-executive, independent director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board in 1999
Born 28 June 1940

Brian retired as executive chairman of Nampak Limited in 2000, a position he held since 1990. He joined the Barlow Rand Group in 1964 and managed a number of subsidiaries before being appointed as director of Barlows in 1985. He is a director of Absa Group Limited and Sasol Limited. In addition, Brian is a past councillor of the South Africa Foundation, Corporate Forum and the Institute of Directors, as well as a contributor to King I and King II on corporate governance.

3. SD JAGOE BSc (Eng), MBA
Non-executive, independent director
Merchant banker
Appointed to the board in 2000
Born 9 June 1951

Sean, who has 29 years’ experience in banking and finance, is a senior adviser with JP Morgan, having run a boutique advisory firm, Fidelis Partners, for a year. Prior to this he was a senior adviser in Morgan Stanley’s Johannesburg office, where he worked for 13 years, head of mergers and acquisitions at Deutsche Morgan Grenfell and head of corporate finance at Rand Merchant Bank.

Sean also serves on the board of Ceramic Industries Limited.

4. KJ MAKWETLA Social Work Diploma,
PMD (Harvard)
Non-executive, independent director
Appointed to the board in 2000
Born 14 September 1941

Bobby spent most of his working life in the furniture and food industries. He served as executive director of Tiger Foods deputising in the group public affairs portfolio and thereafter as non-executive director of Tiger Foods. He served as chairman of Limpopo Economic Development Enterprises, 1995 to 2006; and served on the boards of Lebowa Platinum and Potgietersrus Platinum. He was chairman of The Joburg Property Company; 2000 to 2005 and from 2004 to 2007 served as director of SAPOA. He was also chairman of Clear Channel Merafe from 2003 to 2007.

Bobby is a director of 24 Rivers Platinum and is chairman of Merafe Holdings (Pty) Limited. He is on the boards of African Renaissance Holdings, African Renaissance Aviation Corporation and Marine Bulk Carriers. In his various capacities, Bobby has contributed extensively to black economic empowerment issues at both NAFCOC and government level.


From left:
Thabang Motsohi, Kholeka Mzondeki, Thandi Orleyn, Johannes van der Horst, Rynhardt van Rooyen

Non-executive, independent director
Strategy consultant
Appointed to the board from 1 June 2008
Born 9 November 1947

Thabang is a strategy consultant and has consulted to major corporate clients such as DBSA, SA Port Operations, StatsSA, City of Tshwane, FFC, Nozala, Transnet Fiscal and Financial Commission and the Vaal University of Technology (2010) for the past eight years. Thabang spent 13 years at executive level in the Civil Aviation Directorate in Lesotho. During this period he was elected vice-president of the African Civil Aviation Commission for the East African region for three years. He joined Transnet in 1994 and was promoted to the position of transformation strategist at Transnet Group as general manager in 1997 and to chief executive of PX in 1998, a position which he held until January 2000.

Thabang has attended executive management programmes at London Business School, University of Singapore and the Harvard Business School.

Non-executive, independent director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board from 1 November 2009
Born 21 September 1967

Kholeka started her career as trainee accountant and has held several senior finance positions across diverse industries. Until recently she was finance director at BP South Africa associate company. She joined 3M South Africa as corporate accountant and assumed the general manager finance role within six months. She has worked for Eskom in the consulting and treasury departments.

She serves on other audit committees among which is the United Nations World Food Programme and she is a member of the International Assembly for the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) in London, and was recently voted into ACCA Council. In 2008, Kholeka was a finalist in the BWA/Nedbank Business Woman of the Year competition.

Non-executive director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board in 2007
Born 13 January 1956

Thandi is a director and shareholder of Peotona, an investment company owned and managed by four women – Cheryl Carolus, Wendy Lucas-Bull, Dolly Mokgatle and Thandi Orleyn. She is also a mediator and arbitrator for Tokiso Dispute Settlement; a member of the Competition Tribunal and adjunct professor of Law at the University of Cape Town; she also serves as vice-chairman of the Council of the University of Fort Hare. She sits on various boards including the South African Reserve Bank, Toyota SA and Implats Limited.

Thandi was an attorney and regional director of the Legal Resources Centre, national director of the Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration and director of a commercial law firm.

Non-executive, independent director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board in 1993
Born 4 February 1944

Johannes worked for Old Mutual from 1971 to 2002, where he was general manager (investments) from 1985 to 1997. In September 1997 he was appointed to lead Old Mutual’s demutualisation project, which culminated in July 1999 with its listing on the London Stock Exchange and the JSE Limited. Over the past 25 years he has served on the boards of various companies listed on the JSE Limited. He currently serves on the boards of Assore Limited and Foord Compass Limited.

9. R VAN ROOYEN BCompt (Hons), CA(SA)
Non-executive, independent director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board from 1 November 2009
Born 23 January 1949

Rynhardt retired as group general manager Sasol Limited at the end of 2008 after 31 years with Sasol. During his employment with Sasol he held various positions in financial and accounting management. At retirement he was a member of Sasol’s group executive committee and director and member of most of Sasol’s major subsidiaries. He is a director of Alert Steel Holdings Limited and a trustee of the Sasol Pension Fund.

Ms YZ Cuba (32) has been appointed as nonexecutive independent director to the board effective 1 January 2011. Yolanda holds BCom (Stats), BCom (Hons)(Acc), CA(SA) qualifications.