Board of directors

  • 1
  • 2


12. G Pretorius BSc, BEng, LLB, PMD

Chief executive
Appointed to the board in 1990
Born 24 August 1948

Gerrit joined Fuchs Electronics as a development engineer in 1973 and completed an LLB, studying part-time. Progressing through the ranks, he was appointed managing director of Reutech in 1989. Following the unbundling of the group in 1993 he restructured Reunert’s telecommunications interests and established joint ventures with Siemens Limited and GEC plc. A year later he was appointed chief executive of Telephone Manufacturers of South Africa.
In April 1997, Gerrit was promoted to chief executive of Reunert.

13. BP Gallagher BCom

Executive director
Appointed to the board in 1993
Born 5 March 1950

After completing his articles at Deloitte & Touche, Pat qualified as a chartered accountant.
Pat joined the Barlow Rand Group in 1976. He was promoted soon after and subsequently served as managing director for various companies in the Barlow Rand Group.
With the unbundling of the Barlow Rand Group in 1993, Pat was appointed executive director of Reunert and chairman of Reunert Consumer and Commercial Holdings.

14. GJ Oosthuizen BJuris, LLB

Commercial director
Appointed to the board in 1997
Born 31 March 1954

Gerrit practised as a lawyer for nine years before joining the Barlow Rand Group as industrial relations adviser in 1987.
In 1996 he was appointed executive director: human resources at PPC Limited and the following year returned to Reunert as an executive director. Gerrit’s current responsibilities include general commercial work and legal affairs.

15.   DJ Rawlinson CA(SA)

Financial director
Appointed to the board in 1992
Born 23 February 1949

After completing his articles, David joined Coopers & Lybrand and was then seconded to England for three years.
He has been involved in the electronics and electrical engineering industry for over 20 years, working for CG Smith, GEC and as deputy managing director of Alstom. In 1992 David was appointed financial director of Reunert.


Audit and risk committee
KS Fuller (chairman), BP Connellan, SD Jagoe, KW Mzondeki, MJ Shaw and R van Rooyen.

Remuneration committee
SD Jagoe (chairman), TS Munday, MJ Shaw and JC van der Horst.

Nomination committee
TS Munday (chairman), SD Jagoe, MJ Shaw and JC van der Horst.

Group executive and risk management committee
G Pretorius (chairman), BP Gallagher, GJ Oosthuizen and DJ Rawlinson.