Board of directors  
  • 1
  • 2

ND Orleyn BJuris, BProc LLB
Non-executive director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board in 2007
Born 13 January 1956

Thandi is a director and shareholder of Peotona, an investment company owned and managed by four women – Cheryl Carolus, Wendy Lucas-Bull, Dolly Mokgatle and Thandi Orleyn. Thandi was a director of commercial law firm, Routledge Modise, until April 2006. She is also a mediator and arbitrator under the auspices of Tokiso Dispute Settlement and a member of the Competition Tribunal. She sits on the boards of the South African Reserve Bank, Toyota SA, Implats, ArcelorMittal, Cricket SA and is also a trustee of Legal Resources Trust, Inanda Seminary Education Trust, Zenex Trust and Foundation, Shanduka Trust and De Beers Trust.

Thandi was attorney and regional director of the Legal Resources Centre, national director of the Independent Mediation Service of South Africa and national director of the CCMA from 1997 to 2002.


JC van der Horst BA, LLD
Non-executive, independent director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board in 1993
Born 4 February 1944

Johannes worked for Old Mutual from 1971 to 2002, where he was general manager (investments) from 1985 to 1997.

In September 1997 he was appointed to lead Old Mutual’s demutualisation project, which culminated in July 1999 with its listing on the London Stock Exchange and the JSE Limited.

Over the past 20 years he has served on the boards of various companies listed on the JSE Limited. He currently serves on the boards of Assore Limited and Wooltru Limited.


Executive directors


G Pretorius BSc, BEng, LLB, PMD
Chief executive
Appointed to the board in 1990
Born 24 August 1948

Gerrit joined Fuchs Electronics as a development engineer in 1973 and completed an LLB, studying part-time. Progressing through the ranks, he was appointed managing director of Reutech in 1989.

Following the unbundling of the group in 1993 he restructured Reunert’s telecommunications interests and established joint ventures with Siemens Limited and GEC plc.A year later he was appointed chief executive of Telephone Manufacturers of South Africa.

In April 1997, Gerrit was promoted to chief executive of Reunert.


BP Gallagher BCom
Executive director
Appointed to the board in 1993
Born 5 March 1950

After completing his articles at Deloitte and Touche, Pat qualified as a chartered accountant.

Pat joined the Barlow Rand Group in 1976. He was promoted soon after and subsequently served as managing director for various companies in the Barlow Rand Group.

With the unbundling of the Barlow Rand Group in 1993, Pat was appointed executive director of Reunert and chairman of Reunert Consumer and Commercial Holdings.


GJ Oosthuizen BJuris, LLB
Commercial director
Appointed to the board in 1997
Born 31 March 1954

Gerrit practised as a lawyer for nine years before joining the Barlow Rand Group as industrial relations adviser in 1987.

In 1996 he was appointed executive director: human resources at PPC Limited and the following year returned to Reunert as an executive director. Gerrit’s current responsibilities include general commercial work and legal affairs.


DJ Rawlinson CA(SA)
Financial director
Appointed to the board in 1992
Born 23 February 1949

After completing his articles, David joined Coopers & Lybrand and was then seconded to England for three years.

He has been involved in the electronics and electrical engineering industry for over 20 years, working for CG Smith, GEC and as deputy managing director of Alstom.



Audit and risk committee
KS Fuller (chairman), BP Connellan, SD Jagoe. G Pretorius and DJ Rawlinson resigned from the committee on 25 August 2008.

Remuneration committee
SD Jagoe (chairman), TS Munday, MJ Shaw and JC van der Horst.

Nomination committee
MJ Shaw (chairman), SD Jagoe, TS Munday and JC van der Horst.

Group executive and risk management committee
G Pretorius (chairman), BP Gallagher, GJ Oosthuizen and DJ Rawlinson.

  • 1
  • 2
| Back to top