Board of directors  
  • 1
  • 2

Non-executive directors


MJ Shaw CA(SA)
Chairman, non-executive, independent director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board in 2001 and as chairman from 1 June 2005
Born 13 September 1938

Martin joined Deloitte & Touche in 1956 in Johannesburg. He was appointed a partner in 1968 and transferred to Durban. He returned to Johannesburg in 1983 and was appointed managing partner.

In 1991 he became chief executive, a position he held until 1999. Thereafter he acted as chairman of the board until his retirement in 2001.

He serves as a board member of Illovo Sugar Limited, JD Group Limited, PPC Limited, Standard Bank Group Limited and Standard Bank of SA Limited.


BP Connellan CA(SA)
Non-executive, independent director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board in 1999
Born 28 June 1940

Brian retired as executive chairman of Nampak Limited in 2000, a position he held since 1990. He joined the Barlow Rand Group in 1964 and managed a number of subsidiaries before being appointed as director of Barlows in 1985.

He is a director of Absa Group Limited, Illovo Sugar Limited and Sasol Limited. In addition, Brian is a past councillor of the South Africa Foundation, Corporate Forum and the Institute of Directors, as well as a contributor to King I and King II on corporate governance.


KS Fuller CA(SA)
Non-executive, independent director
Appointed to the board from 1 June 2005
Born 5 December 1939

Kingsley joined Deloitte & Touche in East London in 1961 as an articled clerk. After qualifying as a chartered accountant in June 1963, he transferred to the Johannesburg office in 1964.

He held various positions in Deloitte, culminating in his appointment as a senior partner at the Sandton office in 1990. He retired from Deloitte in 2003.

Kingsley is the current chairman of the Board of Trustees of both the Deloitte & Touche Pension & Provident Funds.


SD Jagoe BSc (Eng), MBA
Non-executive, independent director
Merchant banker
Appointed to the board in 2000
Born 9 June 1951

Sean is a senior adviser in Morgan Stanley’s Johannesburg office, with 26 years’ experience in banking and finance. Prior to joining Morgan Stanley, he was head of mergers and acquisitions at Deutsche Morgan Grenfell, head of corporate finance at Rand Merchant Bank and chief professional officer with the Industrial Development Corporation.

Sean also serves on the boards of AVI Limited and Ceramic Industries Limited.


KJ Makwetla Social Work Diploma, PMD (Harvard)
Non-executive, independent director
Appointed to the board in 2000
Born 14 September 1941

Bobby spent most of his working life in the furniture and food industry. He served as executive director for King Food Corporation, a subsidiary of Tiger Brands (Tiger Oats) and Tiger Foods.

He served as chairman of Limpopo Economic Development Enterprises,1995 – 2006; and served on the boards of Lebowa Platinum and Potgietersrus Platinum. He was chairman of The Joburg Property Company; 2000 – 2005 and from 2004 – 2007 served as director of SAPOA. He was also chairman of Clear Channel Merafe from 2003 – 2007.

Bobby is director of 24 Rivers Platinum and is chairman of Merafe Holdings (Pty) Limited. He is on the boards of African Renaissance Holdings, African Renaissance Aviation Corporation and Marine Bulk Carriers. In his various capacities, Bobby has contributed extensively to black economic empowerment issues at both NAFCOC and government level.


TJ Motsohi BSc
Non-executive, independent director
Strategy consultant
Appointed to the board from1 June 2008
Born 9 November 1947

Thabang is a strategy consultant and has consulted to major corporate clients such as DBSA, SA Port Operations, StatsSA, City of Tshwane, FFC, Nozala and Transnet for the past eight years.

Thabang spent 13 years at executive level in the Civil Aviation Directorate in Lesotho. During this period he was elected vice-president of the African Civil Aviation Commission for the East African region for three years. He joined Transnet in 1994 and was promoted to the position of transformation strategist at Transnet Group as general manager in 1997 and to chief executive of PX in 1998, a position which he held until January 2000.

Thabang has attended executive management programmes at London Business School, University of Singapore and the Harvard Business School.


TS Munday BCom
Non-executive, independent director
Director of companies
Appointed to the board from 1 June 2008
Born 12 September 1949

Trevor spent his formative years from 1971 in a wide-ranging number of roles in financial and commercial management positions both in southern Africa and Europe. In the late 1980s he was appointed finance and commercial director of AECI Explosives and Chemicals Limited. In 1990 he was appointed managing director of Dulux Paints and in the period 1996 to 2000 managing director of Polifin Limited. In 2001 Trevor was appointed executive director and chief financial officer of Sasol Limited with responsibility also for corporate affairs and various other portfolios. Two years later he also assumed global responsibility for Sasol’s chemical businesses. In 2005 and 2006 he was deputy chief executive of Sasol Limited. At the end of 2006 he retired from executive roles and in 2007 became a non-executive director of various companies.

He serves as a board member of Absa Group Limited, Absa Bank Limited, Sasol Synfuels International (Pty) Limited, Sasol Petroleum International (Pty) Limited and Sasol Polymers and Sasol Nitro – both trading as divisions of Sasol Chemical Industries (Pty) Limited.

  • 1
  • 2
| Back to top